The Best Little Cheese Sauce You’ve Never Heard Of…

Is called a Rarebit. A Welsh Rarebit to be more precise. Ryan and I made it a couple years ago based on an Alton Brown recipe and ate it for hours over rye bread.

Recently on “What Would Brian Boitano Make?” which is quickly becoming one of my favorite cooking shows, Brian made a mock beef wellington and cheese sauce.

Details as follows:

1 tblsp butter – melt over medium to medium low heat until foaming stops

1 tblsp flour – whisk into flour and cook until mixture changes from buttery to nutty brown.

Slowly and while whisking, add 1/2 cup of milk (I used half and half) and 1/2 cup of beer. ( I used a nut brown ale)

As sauce thickens slowly add in 1/2 cup of grated cheddar cheese. (I used sharp white vermont cheddar)

Season to taste (white pepper and black pepper)

Thats it. So simple. So untried. So delicious. I promise you will dip everything into this sauce. Bread, crackers, chips, apples, its so amazing.

Also I thought, why not add beer next time I make mac and cheese. This cheese is the basic recipe for baked mac n cheese (minus the egg and some mustard depending on your recipe).

Perhaps I will try adding an ale to cheese sauces of the future.

“I always cook with wine, sometimes I put it in the food” – Julia Child

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

